Rocca of San Giorgio

Rocca or fortress of San Giorgio at San Giorgio Piacentino

Rocca of San Giorgio
The Rocca of San Giorgio was built at the end of the 16th century as a military outpost in support of the Castle in San Giorgio, today the Town Hall, not far away. In 1630 it was transformed into a villa or country house.The moat that surrounded the building was drained and the property was enclosed behind a wall. In the 18th century an Italian garden was created, and some traces of this remain. Inside, the reception rooms were frescoed by the artist Felice Biella from Milan.

In 1830 the Piacenza architect Antonio Tomba restored the rural buildings in front of the Rocca, creating the barchesse with their long portico and two greenhouses on the est and west sides.
Following the fashion of the time, he designed the English garden and park.
To frame the entrance to the complex, two neogothic turrets were placed on the terraces of the barchesse in 1890.

The first Count of San Giorgio was Alessandro Anguissola, but later the property passed to the family of the Counts Scotti della Scala, the name associated today with the Rocca of San Giorgio.
Paolo, the last member of the Scotti family, died in 1877 and his daughter Clelia brought the Rocca as her dowry to the Count Ferdinando Negri della Torre. Their only daughter married Guido Gazzola and the Gazzola family still live in the Rocca today.

The Rocca is still a private residence but it is possible to hire some rooms for events and ceremonies such as exhibitions, gala dinners, conferences, meetings, prestigious events and weddings.

In addition, it is possible to request a guided visit for groups of 15/20 people, preferably on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, if booked ahead.

Rocca di San Giorgio
Via Conciliazione, 3
San Giorgio Piacentino

  • Discover the area
    Discover the area
  • Places to eat
  • Where to stay
  • Itineraries and guided visits
    Itineraries and guided visits
  • Events and Festivals
    Events and Festivals
  • Traditions and Curiosities
    Traditions and Curiosities
Visit Emilia | visit the Italian food valley
Emilia Romagna Turismo – Sito ufficiale di informazione turistica
Iat Val Nure e Val Chero
Tel +39 0523 870997

Viale del Castello,
29020 Grazzano Visconti, PIacenza, Italy

Opening period
da Marzo a Dicembre

Opening period
from March to December

Opening days:
from Tuesday to Saturday
from 10.00 to 13.00
from 10.00 to 13.00
from 14.00 at 17.00
© Tutti i diritti sono riservati
IAT Grazzano Visconti Val Nure e Val Chero
Privacy Policy
Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalitŗ illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di piý o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy.
Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti allíuso dei cookie.
Maggiori informazioniOK
- A +
powered by Infonet Srl Piacenza