Ponte dell'Olio

Ponte dell'Olio
A land of ancient origins between the river Nure and the hills.
The ancient name Ponte Albarola changed in Ponte dell'Olio when the town became an important market and storage of olive oil from Liguria region.

As soon as you have crossed the river, you are welcomed by the historic church of San Giacomo, a mediaeval building that houses another important monument, the organ by Antonio Sangalli.
Next to the church is the fine bell tower, 18th century, and a little further away on the right is the former Town Hall with the clock tower, 19th century. 
The chapel of San Rocco goes back centuries while the Fornaci, the cement kilns, are an important site of industrial archaeology. Not far from the centre is the Villa San Bono, famous as the dwelling of Caroline of Brunswick, wife of George IV.

  • Organ of Antonio Sangalli
    The parish church of San Giacomo in Ponte dell’Olio houses one of the most important organs of the Nure valley, built by Antonio Sangalli in 1860.
  • Church of San Giacomo in Ponte dell'Olio
    The church was rebuilt in 1272, as is recorded on a plaque in the churchyard. Inside is a valuable organ built by the maestro Antonio Sangalli.
  • Villa San Bono at Ponte dell'Olio
    The Villa San Bono was built in the 18th century along with the attached chapel, in a dominant position in the town of Ponte dell’Olio.
  • Old kilns at Ponte dell'Olio
    Recently restored by the municipality, the monumental complex of the kilns of Ponte dell'Olio was built from 1890 by the Azienda Calce Val Nure to produce quicklime for building purposes.
  • Castle of Riva
    An imposing construction in the pretty mediaeval village of Riva
    The castle, on the right bank of the River Nure, has a fine strategic position that in the past gave it control of the road along the Nure valley.
  • Castle of Fulignano or Folignano
    The fortress, which today is an agriturismo, dominates the old village of Fulignano.
  • Castle of Castione
    The castle, constructed in a strategic position, dominates the Nure and Riglio valleys.
  • Castle of Rizzolo
    The castle was built for defensive purposes in the Middle Ages and made still more powerful by Gian Galeazzo Visconti. It became the summer residence of the Salvatico family in the 18th century.
  • Castle of Torrano
    The original nucleus of the castle was probably a tower erected in the middle of the 13th century, under the Confalonieri lords. Today it is private property and open to visitors only on special occasions.

  • Discover the area
    Discover the area
  • Places to eat
  • Where to stay
  • Itineraries and guided visits
    Itineraries and guided visits
  • Events and Festivals
    Events and Festivals
  • Traditions and Curiosities
    Traditions and Curiosities
Visit Emilia | visit the Italian food valley
Emilia Romagna Turismo – Sito ufficiale di informazione turistica
Iat Val Nure e Val Chero
Tel +39 0523 870997

Viale del Castello,
29020 Grazzano Visconti, PIacenza, Italy

Opening period
da Marzo a Dicembre

Opening period
from March to December

Opening days:
from Tuesday to Saturday
from 10.00 to 13.00
from 10.00 to 13.00
from 14.00 at 17.00
© Tutti i diritti sono riservati
IAT Grazzano Visconti Val Nure e Val Chero
Privacy Policy
Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalità illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy.
Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti all’uso dei cookie.
Maggiori informazioniOK
- A +
powered by Infonet Srl Piacenza